MEMORANDUM

Date: February 9, 2025

To: Chairman Kevin Mosher and Members of the Caddo Mills EDC Board

From: John R. Hubbard, Ph.D., CEcD

SUBJECT: Discuss and consider appointments to the Caddo Mills EDC Board

At the January 7, 2025, Regular City Council Meeting, the Caddo Mills City Council appointed **Jennifer Helms** and **Lane Parrish** to the Caddo Mills Economic Development Corporation (EDC) Board to fill vacancies left by the resignations of Laura Gallager and Beth Dattomo.

Current Board Vacancies

Council Members Lori Howell and Cody Hawkins are non-voting ex-officio members of the EDC Board. Rosalyn Kelly remains the only current board member, serving an unexpired term from her appointment in April 2024. The terms of Kevin Mosher and Derrek Ruff have expired. As a result, the EDC now has **two vacant positions and two board members with expired terms who need to be either reappointed or replaced**. Board members with expired terms will continue serving until the City Council takes action to reappoint or replace them.

Citizen Requirements for Serving on an Economic Development Board

The number of board members and their eligibility requirements vary depending on whether the EDC is a Type A or Type B Corporation. Caddo Mills EDC is a **Type B Corporation**.

Type B Corporation Board Requirements:

- Must have at least 7 board members.
- Some board members may live outside the city limits but must reside within the city's extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) or within the county where the city is located.

Term Limits for Economic Development Board Members:

- Board members typically serve two-year terms. Board members serve until they are reappointed or replaced.
- Board members may be reappointed for additional terms, depending on local policies.
- Terms are often staggered to ensure continuity, meaning half of the board members' terms expire each year.

Additional Considerations:

- Board members serve as volunteers and are subject to open meeting laws, ensuring transparency and accountability.
- Cities may adopt bylaws that specify additional qualifications, term limits, and rules regarding board service. Per the new City Charter approved by the residents in November 2024, Council members may not serve on boards or commissions.
- Board members are responsible for managing EDC funds and approving economic development projects that align with the corporation's goals and legal requirements.

EDC Board Applications

The City Secretary has received three EDC Board applications for the EDC Board for consideration.

Applicant	Address	Occupation		
Nicholas Meno	205 Pintail Dr	Florist		
Casey Eason (NR)	4439 CR 2608,	Special Projects Director, Outlier USA		
Ganawa Christopher James-Juanah (NR)	794 Evergreen Lane	Technology Engineer		
Jeb Payne	149 Whitetail Way	Real Estate		
NR – Non-Resident, lives outside the City Limits				

Recommended Appointments and Term Adjustments

The City Council's practice of appointing board members each January provides an excellent opportunity to refresh the EDC Board and ensure compliance with City policies. Staggering term expiration dates will also provide stability and continuity for the Board.

To maintain compliance with the new city charter and ensure continuity, I recommend the following appointments and term adjustments:

Caddo Mills EDC Board Members					
Board	Current Status	Suggested	Suggested		
Member	Current Status	Appointment Date	Expiration Date		
Rosalyn Kelly NR	Appointed April 2024	January 14, 2025	January 31, 2026		
Jennifer Helms NR	New Appointment	January 14, 2025	January 31, 2027		
Lane Parrish	New Appointment	January 14, 2025	January 31, 2027		
Kevin Mosher NR	Term Expired (appointed Aug. 2017)	January 14, 2025	January 31, 2026		
Derrek Ruff NR	Term Expired (appointed Sept. 2022)	January 14, 2025	January 31, 2027		
Vacant 1		February 11, 2025	January 31, 2026		
Vacant 2		February 11, 2025	January 31, 2027		
NR – Non-Resident, lives outside the City Limits					
Ex-Officio Members					
Cody Hawkins	Current Council Member (ex-officio,				
	non-voting member.				
Lori Howell	Current Council Member (ex-officio,				
	appointed June 2019)				

Suggested Motion

"Motion to reappoint Kevin Mosher and Derrek Ruff to the Caddo Mills Economic Development Corporation Board, effective February 11, 2025, with terms expiring January 31, 2026 and January 31, 2027, respectively, and to appoint <INSERT NAME> effective February 11, 2025, with a terms expiring on January 31, 2026, and appoint <INSERT NAME> effective February 11, 2025, with a terms expiring on January 31, 2027."